Yorkshire Electricity Board

Yorkshire Electricity Board

The Yorkshire Electricity Board was formed in 1948 as part of the nationalisation of the electricity industry by the Electricity Act 1947. It distributed electricity to much of Yorkshire and parts of Derbyshire, Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire.

The Yorkshire Electricity Board was privatised in 1990 as the Yorkshire Electricity Group plc. In 1997 the company was acquired by American Electric Power and Public Service Company of Colorado.

In 2001 Innogy bought 94.75 % of the company. It was subsequently split into two entities, one a supply company, the other a distribution utility called Yorkshire Electricity Distribution Limited. Yorkshire Electricity Distribution Limited was bought by CE Electric UK in 2001, which is now the licensed Distribution Network Operator for the Yorkshire region. Innogy was itself taken over by RWE. The supply company now trades as npower.

There are 4 overprint types related to the company :


Y. E. B. / Wakefield Area (V2a)

Y. E. B. / 5, SUB AREA (V2a)

Y. E. B. / 6, SUB AREA (V2a)